Other Stories

Full Video

US, EU, UK and Canada announce new sanctions on Belarus Updated: 2021-12-03 08:05:57 KST

In a joint statement released on Thursday, the United States, the United Kingdom, the European Union and Canada imposed further sanctions on Belarus, accusing the Lukashenko government of human right violations and "orchestrating" irregular migration at EU borders.
The statement said that the group remained committed to supporting the democratic aspirations of the people of Belarus, despite the government's continued push to silence them.
In the latest round of sanctions, the UK froze the assets of OJSC Belaruskali, a state-owned Belarusian potash fertilizer producer, while the U.S. tightened its sanctions against the company, after having already blacklisted them in August.
The fresh sanctions aim to crack down on the Lukashenko government's continued human rights violations, as well as the on-going migration crisis along the Eastern European country's border with Poland, Lithuania and Latvia, which the West has blamed Belarus for.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.