Other Stories

43 countries restrict entry of travelers coming from S. Korea Updated: 2020-02-28 04:10:53 KST

A total of 114 South Koreans are quarantined in the Chinese cities of Weihai and Nanjing.
South Korea's Foreign Minister, Kang Kyung-wha, expressed her concerns on the matter to her Chinese counterpart, Wang Yi during a phone conversation on Wednesday.
Wang did not give a direct answer, but instead thanked Seoul for its support to China on dealing with the epidemic.
South Korea had allocated 5 million U.S. dollars for assistance to China, and around 60-percent of that has been used.
Seoul believes that China should take into account the assistance it has sent already and South Korea's own quarantine capabilities.
But it seems China believes otherwise.
China's state-run Global Times says the country should quarantine everyone from countries seriously affected by the coronavirus.
It added this is not a diplomatic issue but a move to prevent the epidemic.

An increasing number of countries around the world are imposing entry restrictions on travelers coming from South Korea.
22 countries including Mongolia, Vietnam, Singapore and Japan are denying entry.
21 others, including Taiwan, India, and Thailand, have stepped up quarantine measures by isolating travelers or strengthening health checks.

"We've been coping with the COVID-19 outbreak transparently, with the world's best quarantine capabilities and an effective system. The entry measures other countries are imposing, despite our such efforts, are excessive."

Members of South Korea's National Security Council gathered on Thursday and agreed to strengthen diplomatic efforts to prevent South Korean citizens traveling abroad from being mistreated.
Oh Jung-hee, Arirang News.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.