Other Stories

String of countries locking their doors to travelers from S. Korea Updated: 2020-02-23 12:12:30 KST

A dozen countries have either banned people coming from South Korea, or enhanced their entry procedures, amid fear of the contagious novel coronavirus.
According to Seoul's foreign ministry on Sunday, several countries including Bahrain and Israel have decided to ban Korean travelers from entering.
Israel implemented the ban without notice, forcing 130 travelers who arrived at Tel Aviv on Saturday to return to South Korea.
Seoul has strongly protested to the Israeli government for not giving any advance notice.
U.S. authorities have also advised those traveling to South Korea to be extra cautious amid the ongoing coronavirus outbreak.
On Friday local time, both State Department and CDC raised their own advisory levels by one notch to level two.
In response, Seoul says it's not banning U.S. citizens' from visiting and that the CDC recommendations do not affect South Korean nationals returning to the country.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.