Other Stories

2018, 2019 Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke Updated: 2019-10-11 13:06:05 KST

With the Nobel Prize in Literature being cancelled in 2018 due to a sex scandal, the 2018 and 2019 prizes were awarded at the same time on Thursday.

(English AP- 4234068)
"The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2018 is awarded to the Polish author Olga Tokarczuk for her narrative imagination, that with encyclopedic passion, represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life. The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2019 is awarded to the Austrian author Peter Handke for an influential work, that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience."

The 2018 award, given to Tokarczuk, is just the 15th literature prize given to a female laureate in more than a century.
And of the 11 Nobel winners so far this week, all other winners this year have been men.
The 57-year-old is considered the leading Polish novelist of her generation, and is known for her works that blend the real with the mystical.
The Nobel Committee was especially impressed with her epic historical novel 'The Books of Jacob', which the committee said "presents a "rich panorama of a little-known chapter in European history".
Last year, she also won the Man Booker International Prize.
The 2019 winner, Peter Handke is credited as one of the most thought-provoking writers in the German language, and is known for being one of the most influential writers of contemporary fiction.
However, his outspoken nature has been deemed offensive by many, as he once denied the Serbian massacre, and compared Serbia's fate to that of the Jews during the Holocaust.
But despite his controversial comments, Nobel judges all agreed to name him this year's winner.
Both will receive over 900-thousand U.S. dollars in cash, a gold medal and a diploma that will be presented at a ceremony in Stockholm on December 10th.
Lee Seung-jae, Arirang News.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.