Other Stories

58 countries are controlling entry from South Korea Updated: 2020-02-28 16:15:45 KST

Nearly 60 countries are restricting the entry of people traveling from South Korea, either through stronger quarantine measures or outright entry bans, as of Friday afternoon.
This is an increase of eight countries from Thursday.
The Comoros, an island group off the east of Africa, became the 25th country to ban people traveling from South Korea from entering its territory.
27 other countries strengthened their entrance screening procedures.
Vietnam, Croatia, Ukraine, and Iceland are the latest to up their screenings.
Croatia is conducting a 6-to-10 hour quarantine on visitors who have been in South Korea or China in the last two weeks.
And Iceland has ordered travelers from South Korea to self-quarantine and avoid contact with others.
Despite more countries imposing entry bans South Korea's Foreign Minister Kang Kyung-wha said on Thursday that diplomatic efforts are underway to tackle such issues.

"We have strongly protested to some governments that took such measures without prior notice. Our diplomatic missions are actively negotiating with other countries so we don't see any more situations that may baffle our nationals."

She added that even as confirmed COVID-19 cases are on the rise the assessment by the international community and the WHO is that they trust South Korea's capacity to deal with the outbreak.
Kim Sung-min, Arirang News.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.